Date: April 13, 2021
Time: 12 Noon
Venue: Pacific Crystal Palace
Ticket Details: $40
Duration: 60 minutes


Late Beethoven and the Dry Cardrona

New Zealand String Quartet

Celebrating the partnership of music and poetry, the New Zealand String Quartet present the world premiere of The Dry Cardrona. Based on James K Baxter’s poem and inspired by the Otago landscape, the Quartet are joined by percussionist Naoto Segawa and narrator Katherine Baxter. Composer Barton Price has been in many New Zealand and Australian bands.

 Then take a turn and delve into the six wildly different movements of Beethoven’s late String Quartet Op. 130. Composed in his last years, after his final (Ninth) Symphony, this music represents some of Beethoven’s most substantial and deeply felt. Experience the magic of Beethoven’s original ending, the Great Fugue, which a century after it was written, composer Igor Stravinsky called ‘music that will be contemporary forever’. The NZSQ end with Beethoven’s revised final movement for Op. 130 – the last music he wrote. This is Beethoven’s inimitable soundscape, from counterpoint and fugue to the passions and complexities of Romanticism.

Proudly Supported by: